#BookTubeAThon Wrap-Up

Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 10.48.09 AMSo, this week didn’t go as well as I wanted it to, but I’m still happy with my Booktube-A-Thon results. 

I lot of things derailed my reading plans, including summer plans with friends, must-do errands, a 40-hour work week, and getting sick on Saturday. 

Monday
Before I went to bed on Monday I finished We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. I had 50 left of this book. 

My day was full of errands but I managed to pick up The Book Thief by Markus Zusak for my most neglected genre (historical fiction) and the film to movie adaptation. I read 40 pages by the end of the day.

Tuesday
I had a long day at work on Tuesday, but I managed to read 60 pages throughout the day. That night, I decided I wanted to read A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. I started and finished the book, completing the book with pictures challenge and 202 pages. 

Wednesday
The Book Thief continued today, and I completed another 100 pages. 

Thursday
Another day trying to finished The Book Thief, with 275 pages completed.

Friday
Finally finished The Book Thief, with 75 more pages on the day. This completed my most neglected genre challenge, but I needed to watch the film to finish the book to movie adaptation challenge. 

Saturday
I was exhausted by the heart-wrenching story that is The Book Thief. I also got massively sick on this day. I read 8 pages of Will Grayson, Will Grayson, and finally watched The Book Thief film, completing another challenge. 

Sunday
At this point, after a day of sickness and my only day off for a while, I decided to take the day for myself. I did not end up reading any pages. And I’m okay with that. 

Results:

I finished a total of 2 books, 810 pages & 3 challenges. While this is not at all what I anticipated, I do consider this a success. I’ve been meaning to pick up The Book Thief for more than 4 months and just hadn’t. So even if it took most of the week, I’m glad I finally got to it and I’m thankful for the Booktube-A-Thon motivating me.

I can’t wait for another Read-A-Thon!  

 

Leave a Reply

