Top 5 Wednesday | Books You Wished You Read Earlier

The Top 5 Books I Wish I Read Earlier:

1. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
The 5th Wave was my favorite book I’ve read in 2014. Of course I wish I was introduced to a this gem the second it was published. A strong character, with an emphasis on the psychological effects of an alien invasion and the possible end of the world. It’s everything I want from a book.

2. Paper Towns by John Green
I heard a lot of mixed things about Paper Towns, and thus it was the last of John Green’s sole-authored books I read. MISTAKE! Paper Towns is my favorite of Green’s novels, even with the “unsatisfying” ending (it was satisfying to me). Yes, I like it better than The Fault in Our Stars. I wish I would have read it right after I put down TFiOS and had decided I had to read all of John Green’s books.

3. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
I saw this book everywhere, but the cover just wasn’t appealing to me, so I never took a look at the back, but somehow it had ended up on my Goodreads TBR, and I decided to request it from the library. Goodness, the story is so touching and impactful. It was also a beautiful and unique use of multiple point of views that I loved. Another favorite read of 2014.

4. Saga Written by Brian K. Vaughan, Illustrated by Fiona Staples
My boyfriend has been into Saga before it even came out, no joke. As a huge comic nerd, and Brian K. Vaughan fanboy, he was anticipating the release of Saga and even went to a conference for Image before the release date where he met BKV and Fiona Staples. ANYWAY, he has been trying to get me to read the comics since they came out, and I finally picked up the 3 released volumes a few months ago. SO GOOD! I should have listened.

5. Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight
Oh, this book. I passed this book in Target nearly every trip to the store for a year and I always wanted to read it. I never heard the buzz (though I now know it was there), but the description entranced me. For some stupid reason, I never bought it. I ended up getting this from the library last month and read it in one night. Reconstructing Amelia is the easiest 5/5 stars I’ve ever given to a book. Even thinking about the story makes my heart constrict in love and sadness for this story. I’ll never understand passing up this one-of-a-kind book so many times.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

