Top 5 Wednesday | Books That Made You Cry

Disclaimer: The subject of this post is somewhat spoiler-y by nature. I avoided mentioning specific spoilers in the explainations for #5-2, but no. 1 on this list does contain spoilers. You have been warned.

If a book is sad, I tend to tear up. It happens often enough. These aren’t books I teared up during. These are books I full on sobbed during.

5. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

How things went down and how they were dealt with in the second half of this book destroyed me. It just was not okay. This is so much more than an average, cute, contemporary love story and I was not expecting that.

 

 

4. Delirium by Lauren Oliver

You know that scene in Silver Lining’s Playbook where Pat throws a book out the window due to frustration? That was me reading this ending. To me, this ending was more frustrating than Allegiant‘s because (at the time) it felt very unnecessary. I threw a fit and was upset, but I also cried. A lot.

3. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Honestly, it’s not surprise. It has to make the list. No explanation needed.

 

 

 

2. Allegiant by Veronica Roth

First off, I was spoiled to the ending of this book, so it might have made me think about the ending more logically, and less emotionally. I understood the ending. I approved of the ending. I understood why Roth chose to end the book that way. That didn’t mean it was okay. That didn’t make it hurt less.

 

1. Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix by J.K. Rowling

I bet you’re a little surprised to see this one topping my list. If you’re going to have a Harry Potter book make the list, why not the Half Blood Prince, right? Wrong. And should it really be ranked above TFiOS? Frankly, yes. Sirius’ death marked my first, though far from last, favorite character death. It destroyed me. It was unfair to Harry. And to Sirius. And to James and Lily who hoped Harry would lead a normal-ish life with Sirius. And to the wizarding world. And to me. It was the most unfair (fictional) thing my young-heart had dealt with. You can still see tear marks and ink smudges in my first edition OotP book on the page where Sirius dies.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Books That Made You Cry

Leave a Reply

