Book Review | We Were Liars

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
Release Date: May 2014
Genre: YA Contemporary

Goodreads | Author Website

Rating: ★★★★★

“She confused wit with intelligence, and made people laugh rather than lightening their hearts or making them think.” 


We Were Liars 
by E. Lockhart is a raw, emotional one-of-a-kind story. A masterpiece highlighting the power of the pen and a good idea.

You’ve probably heard that you should go into this mysterious book blind. Going into the book blind is fine if that’s what you want, but I don’t believe it is necessary. If you want to go in blind, please skip the next paragraph, which is of course spoiler-free.

We Were Liars tells the story of the Sinclair’s, a rich and privileged family that spends their summers on a private island. Their story, spanning over multiple summers, is told from the perspective of teenage Cadence, endearingly referred to as Cady. Cady and her friends deal with typical coming of age teenage issues, such as falling in love and trying to find themselves and their own beliefs amongst family issues. They also deal with some issues that are unique to their wealthy background, such as family members bitterly fighting over inheritances and houses and the pressures of living up to certain expectations. During one of the summers on the island Cady is involved in an accident and she is left with very few memories what happened or how she ended up in the accident. She returns to the island two years later trying to piece together the memories she has lost. 

I adore this story. I related to the many of the aspects of the main characters and was repulsed by their situations at the same time. I swooned for the poetic writing, the magical realism elements and the wonderfully imagined personification of emotion.

As soon as I finished this book, I wanted to re-read it. I haven’t yet, but I plan on purchasing the book and re-reading it in the near future as it has quickly become one of my favorites — a YA book that I would recommend to anyone because I feel it steps beyond the genre.

I highly recommend this book. It is majorly hyped, and I don’t want that to ruin this book for you. It’s 225 pages, a short and quick read, and I think those 225 pages are well worth your time. Give it a go. And even though I (and many others) have hyped this book up, go in with an open mind and take it for what it is, because I loved this book too much to let hype ruin it for you.

I’ll just leave you with this message from the publisher:

Read It.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE. 

Have you read We Were Liars? What did you think about it? Are you planning to read it? Let me know in the comments below. 

3 thoughts on “Book Review | We Were Liars

    • readtweetlove says:

      You don’t have to say sorry. Every person reads stories differently and each story is going to affect each person differently. I also found the plot and especially the ending predictable, but for me it didn’t feel predictable. I really did like the writing, but I don’t many who it didn’t work for. Did any 2014 releases stand out to you last year? I’d love to hear about a book you loved.

Leave a Reply

