Top 10 Tuesday | Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

Here are the top 10 books I’ve been recommended to read, I’ve marked as to-be-read on Goodreads and I kinda want to read, but am not really sure I want to read.

1. Fallen by Lauren Kate
I feel like Lauren Kate has blurbed so many books that I have really wanted to read or absolutely enjoyed. Does that mean I’d like her work too? I just don’t know!

2. Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
Part of me doesn’t even know why I’m considering this book/series. Paranormal/romance typically doesn’t do it for me. And this has awful reviews. But I’m so interested in why everyone harps on it, but still picked it up. I just don’t understand, and I think that’s what makes me think about reading it.

3. Chronicles of Nick by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Honestly, I don’t even remember what this is about. I just know that it’s on my list for a reason, and that is because it was HIGHLY recommended to me. It doesn’t seem like my thing, but I feel like the books are everywhere among certain groups of my reading pals and that makes me feel like I should read it.

4. The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter
So I added this to my to-be-read Goodreads shelf ages ago. And I kinda don’t even remember who recommended it, or why I put it on there. There’s something about it that doesn’t appeal to me, and I can’t tell you what, I’m tempted to take it off my TBR, but for some reason I just can’t.

5. Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid
It’s being compared to Paper Towns, which is one of my all time favorite books! But, but, but, those are marketers comparing it to Paper Towns. Not enough people have read it, road trip books are necessarily my favorite and I hear the insa-love is awful. Meh. I’m for sure on the fence with this one.

6. Just One Day by Gale Forman
I heard it’s good. But I heard that about If I Stay and I was sorely disappointed. I wonder if Ms. Forman just isn’t for me.

7. S. by Doug Dorset, J.J. Abrams
So I picked this book up from the library. And I never read it. I wanted to. But then at the same time, I wonder, am I only interested because J.J. was involved and it has a cool premise/gimmick? Is the story actually any good? So many people talk about how cool this book seems, but I haven’t heard enough people actually review it to know if I should sort through it (because it’s not the kind of book I can just throw in my purse and read on the go, which makes it harder to commit to).

8. The Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan
Yeah, a huge part of me not wanting to read this is because it’s middle grade. I’m not going to lie about that. I feel like I just missed the boat on this one. Got too old for it. But at the same time, people who’s opinion I respect say it’s so good, and it feels like maybe it’s such a big phenomenon I should pick it up just for that reason. I JUST DON’T KNOW!

9. Vampire Academy by Rachel Mead
I mean, I love Vampires, but I’m kind of sick of them. The story seems cliche and of little weight or depth. Am I totally wrong? Because I kinda hope I’m totally wrong. These books are so hyped and beloved, I feel like I should give them a chance, but I kinda just want to forget about them too.

10. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
I’ve heard so many mixed reviews about the Mortal Instruments and the Infernal Devices books. One the one hand, I heard such an abundance of praise and fangirling, but on the other hand I heard valid on logical arguments why this book (and series) is not worthy of my time. It’s a hard one to pick through.

Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and if you would recommend them? 

One thought on “Top 10 Tuesday | Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

  1. whitneydawnwest says:

    Hi Reggie! I recently stumbled upon your blog and I an devoted to read through all your posts. What can I say your blog is interesting!

    Anyways regarding the books above I definitely think you should at least check out if not read “Vampire Academy.” I read it during high school shortly before the Twilight Saga was a bit hit on the big screen. Like yourself, I had low expectations for another vampire love story. However, rest assured that it was the second best vampire novel I have ever read to date. There is no love triangle, which is a plus considering it seems to be a fad lately. The series is a fast easy read and the humor makes it worth the read! Don’t watch the movie though! I was highly disappointed and thought the movie was cheesy and the actors were awkward at their best.

    Moving on to my FAVORITE vampire book of all time, well actually it’s a series. The Morganville Vampires have you heard of them? No love triangles! The characters in the series are the most exotic, funny, ridiculous, and least expecting ones I have ever read about. It’s a nice spin on the whole vampire scene. The main character in the series even resorts to stabbing a vampire with a pencil. It’s beyond hilarious and the dialogue makes the book an easy fast read. Another one of the characters wears pink vampire bunny slippers. I know what you are thinking wtf? I literally can’t get enough of the books, they are currently working on turning the book into a web series on YouTube. I strongly insist you check it out.
    I apologize for my long comment, I just had to share with you my thoughts! 😀 Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

