Top 5 Wednesday | Love Triangles

Today’s Top 5 Wednesday is my “top” love triangles. Today I’m defining “top” as the one’s that stand out most to me.

1. Shadow and Bone

This isn’t really a love triangle, it’s more like a love pentagon, when you count the Darkling, both princes, and Mal. Poor Alina, how’s a girl supposed to pick when the whole country is in love with you? I love Alina and the way she feels about all of these guys. She doesn’t seem to be a weak girl dependent upon men, she doesn’t seem like she is weak in her convictions and that’s why she can’t pick. There are a lot of factors going on here and this is one of the first triangles I read that I genuinely enjoyed.

2. The Hunger Games

I’m team Gale and I stand by that. Some of the situations suck. Some of the things that happened to Peeta, Gale and Katniss are not okay, or fair. And yeah, Peeta is sweet and all (and I don’t not ship Peeta and Katniss, I just love Gale more) but Gale was there for Katniss from the beginning, not just admiring her from afar. Sorry, Peeta, I’m loyal.

3. Shatter Me

Really, the triangle is most apparent in Unravel Me and Ignite Me but this love triangle stood out to me because Adam was just okay, and Warner was kinda meh, but as the story progressed I grew to hate Adam and adore Warner. Talk about major character development. This isn’t my favorite series, but I found the love triangle so interesting and unique, I felt it belonged on this list.

4. Delirium

First of all, I hated how this triangle ended,  because even though we got a hint at what might happened, it was vague and did not give love a proper conclusion (which is a huge deal when the premise of your dystopian world has to do with love!) This love triangle progressed so differently than the others on this list because the two love interests were introduced with the other was not in the picture, and that makes the triangle that much more interesting and hard to work through. I’m not going to say much more about this one, because just saying there is a love triangle is pretty spoilery and I don’t want to give any more away.

5. Maybe Someday

Holy cow, this is the love triangle that impacted me the most, because it’s so different from all of the others I have read. We deal with cheating, and the relationships on a much deeper level than in most YA books (this is a new adult novel). Most love triangles I have read are in the background of an existing story. Even if the triangles are a major part of the story, they are not the focus. In Maybe Someday the relationship between all of these characters, and how they deal with their relationships is the entire story. It’s fabulous, multi-dementional and heartbreaking. I was much more invested (and torn) in this triangle than any other I have read.

 

What major love triangles did I leave off this list? Who do you ship most? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

