A to Z Bookish Survey

Last summer my favorite book blogger — Jamie from perpetualpageturner — created the A to Z bookish tag. I wasn’t blogging at the time, but now that I am, I thought this would be a fun post for y’all to learn more about me and my reading history. Without further ado… here we go!

Author You’ve Read The Most From:
Sara Shepard. I read a good chunk of the Pretty Little Liars books before I gave up on the series.

Best Sequel Ever:
The Evolution of Mara Dyer, hands down!

Currently Reading:
City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Drink of Choice While Reading:
Tea or coffee! Anything in a mug, really!

E-reader or physical book?:
I love them both so much. I like having a book with me everywhere I go (I’m a nook reader – I read in little nooks of time), so iBooks and the Kindle app make that SO easy. I also love the discretion my iPad mini brings (I honestly would never read the Lux series in public otherwise). I also love notes on Kindle for the iPad and Overdrive. BUT any time I read on my iPad too much I miss my physical books. There’s just something special about physical books that can’t – and shouldn’t – be replaced.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Dated In High School:
One of my major high school crushes was very much like Gat from We Were Liars.

Glad You Gave this Book a Chance:
Y: The Last Man! My boyfriend has wanted me to read this graphic novel/series for ages – and with good reason. It is undeniably brilliant.

Hidden Gem Book:
Wonder When You’ll Miss Me by Amanda Davis. Favorite book of all time!

Important Moment in Your Reading Life:
When my 1st grade teacher gave me an American Girl book. I’ve had a book in my hand every moment since.

Just finished:
Opal by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:
I try to keep my mind open and read everything – but I’m not big on historical nonfiction. I wish I was, but I always lose interest. If you have any engaging historical nonfiction recommendations, let me know!

Longest Book You’ve Read:
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (870 pages).

Major book hangover because of:
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I didn’t read for fun again for a year.

Number of Bookcases You Own:
Three, kinda. One I share with my boyfriend, another we use for DVDs and Blu-rays. I’m hopefully getting a fourth for my birthday or Christmas.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:
Divergent by Veronica Roth

Preferred Place to Read:
Bed!

Quote that inspires you/give you all the feels from a book you’ve read:
“I’m in love with cities I’ve never been to and people I’ve never met.” — Margo, Paper Towns by John Green.

Reading Regret:
Ignoring the YA genre for so long. After HP, I didn’t read as much. I got really into literary fiction and was mostly unaware of books I should have been reading and would have adored. Now I feel like I’m playing the biggest catch-up game of al time.

Series You Started And Need to Finish (all books are out in series):
In the After light – the final book in The Darkest Minds trilogy by Alexandra Bracken. I just don’t want it to end.

Three of your all-time favorite books:

  • Wonder When You’ll Miss Me
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
  • We Were Liars

Unapologetic Fangirl For:
John Green. Nerdfighter for life. DFTBA.

Very Excited For this Release More Than All the Others:
The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon – The Bone Season sequel!

Worst Bookish Habit:
Checking out more library books than I can possibly read by their due date.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:
King Richard II by William Shakespeare.

Your Latest Book Purchase:
Eleanor & Park and Cinder

Zzz-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):
Reconstructing Amelia

2 thoughts on “A to Z Bookish Survey

  1. Jamie says:

    YAY! Thanks for doing this! I’m so glad this survey keeps living on!!! It makes me so happy 🙂

    A couple things:

    – I own Reconstructing Amelia and now you are making me HAVE to get to it soon considering it kept you up real late!
    – Hi fellow Nerdfighter!
    – WE WERE LIARS <33
    – I AM THE WORST WITH THE LIBRARY TOOOOO.
    – Must check out Wonder When You'll Miss Me
    – I really regret putting YA off for so long. I was kind of snobby about it at first and then Twilight broke down my defenses. 😛

Leave a Reply

