January Wrap-up & February TBR

January wasn’t my best reading month — I only read 5 books! The slump I fell in at the end of December moved it’s way into the entire month of January. However, January 2014 I only read two books, so I’d still consider this a win.

IMG_0801I started the month with Golden by Jessi Kirby. I adored this book & gave it 5 stars. It was a fabulous way to start the year. Golden tells the story of Parker Frost, who never takes risks and lives her perfectly-planned, Stanford-bound, valedictorian life without a second thought. Until she unravels a journal from a girl who died in her small town years prior, and everything changes.

Next, I concluded The Darkest Minds trilogy by reading In The Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken. Another 5 star book, this is my favorite YA dystopian series since The Hunger Games.

Next up, Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I gave this book three stars and I didn’t like it as much as the first and second book. As always, these are quick reads, but at this point I’m just ready for the series to be over.

Next up, I read Manage your Day-to-Day complied by 99u.com. I read this book in a day, and am happy to be reading more non-fiction, but it was not what I was expecting. The tips were lacking, but the book had great stories and examples so I gave it 3 stars.

Finally this month, I listened the Grace’s Guide by Grace Helbig. I listened to the narration of Grace reading the book, and gosh that made this book even better. It again wasn’t what I was expecting, but it was funny and enjoyable just as Grace always is. 4 stars.


My goal is to read TEN books in February. Here are the books I hope they are.

IMG_4003The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon
Wild by Cheryl Strayed
Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Crash and Burn by Michael Hassan
Go Ask Alice by Beatrice Sparks
Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson
City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
Vicious by V.E. Schwab
Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand
We Should Hang Out Sometime by Josh Sundquist

Leave a Reply

