Top 10 Heroines in Books

toptentuesdayTop 10 Tuesday is a weekly feature/meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we’re writing our the top 10 heroines in books (or other media if you wish). HERE WE GO!

10. Mara Dyer
Mara of the Mara Dyer trilogy is one of the most unique characters I have read. She is an interesting unreliable narrator that makes her story more compelling and engaging. I do think she has heroic moments (though I know some might argue about her placement on this list as a heroine. She’s one to me because she was brave through some things that could have broke her.

9. Annabeth
Annabeth of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Hero’s of Olympus series’ is one of the characters that makes young girls know it’s okay to be smart, and clever and stand on your own. For that reason alone, she is a favorite.

8. Alana
Alana of the Saga graphic novel series is a strong, kick-butt lady who just happens to be a mother. She’s flawed, but she always follows her own beat and does her own thing. I love that about her.

7. Seraphina
Seraphina of the Seraphina series is such a realistic character in such a unique fantasy story. She overcomes incredible obstacles, struggles with accepting herself and deals with some crazy family drama. She handles things so well, teaching us all how to handle the more intense situations with a level-head.

6. Cassie
Cassie of The 5th Wave series is incredible. Talk about a kick-butt female. She knows how to survive that alien apocalyptic world she finds herself in. Cassie has ungone a hell of a lot of emotional, mental and physical trauma and keeps putting one foot in front of the other. Her persistence and determination are inspiring.

5. Ruby
Ruby of The Darkest Minds trilogy has an amazing progression of character. She starts out very young-minded, scared, timid but full of fire and determined to survive. She kinds and compassionate but learns how to be hard in a world where anyone can turn on you. I loved reading from her perspective and will re-read these books so I can do that again.

4. Matilda
Matilda of Matilda made me not ashamed to read. Not scared to be nerdy. She made me proud and happy and excited to be a girl with a lot of traits like she has. Matilda is someone who will stick with me for the rest of my life. Her story was the first I can remember that actually changed something in me and how I saw my world.

3. Katniss
Katniss of The Hunger Games. Um brave, kind, family-driven, big-picture thinking, flawed but strong character. Katniss is everything young girls need today.

2. Paige
Paige of The Bone Season series is bad-freaking-ass. She is step-by-step, slowly but surely, taking down an oppressive and secret human trafficking ring that’s been corruptluy happening for two hundred years. Holy. Freaking. Cow. I love her. She is strong, has a heart like I’ve never seen and is actually smart. She knows how to get things done, doesn’t rush them. She hurts. She feels. She thinks. She is my favorite modern-day heroine.

1.  Hermione Granger
Hermione of the iconic Harry Potter series made a generation of girls know it’s not only okay to be smart, it’s actually pretty freaking awesome. It’s okay to read, and hang out with boys. Her development throughout the series is great, but what she teaches us all is even better. She will always top this list for me, because she did to an entire generation what Matilda had done for me years prior, and that’s so powerful and so important.

Leave a Reply

